LSTD. What is it like?

mattjmartin
Achievement count: 0

LSTD. What is it like?

Post by mattjmartin » Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:59 pm

Having only ridden with Ridesmart, I am curious what LSTD offers in comparison to what I am accustomed to with Dave.

What attracts me to LSTD is the fact the CMRA licensing is only obtained through them.

My GOAL is to have ridden in Ty's Level three a few times by the end of this year and have at least ten trackdays under my belt, as well as a well set up bike. Then, come next season, work on CMRA licensing. :cool:

I know I am new to this whole riding thing and am kinda rambunctious, but I ave heard from many people that race that diving in head first will never be a mistake. What can I say, I'm addicted.

So, tell me about LSTD!
- Matt
- 2004 FZ6
"If you aren't living on the edge, you're taking up too much space."

DarcShadow
Club Staff/Web Master
Club Staff/Web Master
Riding Style: Advanced Track Rider
Achievement count: 45

Post by DarcShadow » Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:07 pm

They are more of a track day then a track school. They still have a class setup and offer guidance but not quite as detailed as RideSmart.

The big down side in my oppion is if you go to their trackday the Friday before a CMRA event, the focus is mostly on the racers and the day is treated almost like a practice day for the race guys. Not to say you don't get plenty of track time for the lower run groups, you do, but like at MSR the actually run both tracks, the old track is for the race guys and the new track is for the lower levels.

One other thing they don't make real clear is on race weekends there is a entrace fee to get in to the track. If you are only there for the friday track day you get your money back at the end of the day so not a big deal. Unless you didn't know about the fee and don't have any cash on hand when you pull up to the gates.